ASHBURTON UNITED SOCCER CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES



Date:	Tuesday 28 November 2023
Time:	7:00pm
Venue:	Dorothy Laver Reserve West Pavilion – 22 Dunlop Street, Ashburton, Victoria
Attendees:	Barry Poulsen, Florian Osang, Paul Crisp, Craig Little, Pattrycja Salwa, Ray Verratti, Matys Borowicz, Ben Duan, Zeno Hamzi, Michael Leach, James Tan, Sophia Apostolopoulos, Jordan Duckett, Craig Billington, Alan Cubbon, Martin Holt, Toby Billington, Briana Kotzapavlidis, Tim Smith Sunita Toraty proxy nomination of Paul Crisp Melissa Butler proxy nomination of Sophia Apostolopoulos Rayt Macdonald (Guest)
Apologies:	Melissa Butler
Chair:	Ray Verratti
Minutes:	Craig Little

#	ITEM	
	Welcome – AUSC President	
1	Ray Verratti opened the meeting at 7.00 PM and welcomed everyone to the AGM.	
	Present / Apologies	
2	Melissa Butler was an apology for this AGM.	
	 Ray confirmed a quorum of 21 was reached for this AGM comprising 19 attendees and 2 proxy votes. 	
3	Confirmation of Minutes from the Previous Meeting	
	• Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting held on 21 November 2022, having previously been made available to Members, were confirmed.	
	Proposed – Paul Crisp	
	Seconded – Craig Billington	
4	Presidents Report	
	Ray provided an oral report for the year's achievements. Key point being:	
	 Player numbers increased to 997 in season 2023, a 17% increase on last year. 	
	 Female membership has increased again, now 25% of players. 	
	 Council committing significant investment in refurbishing High St and DLRW, great news in the long term, however will bring a challenge in season 2024 as works are finalized. 	
	 Longer term planning is for significant Warner reserve upgrade in 2026. 	

#	ITEM	
	Senior Men's and Women's both recorded their highest finishes in 2023 and are well placed	
	to push for promotion in 2024.	
	 Junior NPL had our strongest results to date with three teams making finals 	
	 Next year will be the clubs 45th anniversary. 	
5	Treasurers Report	
	Ben provided a verbal report of the Club's performance for 2023 Season and referred to the Treasurers Report made available for review prior to the Annual General Meeting. Key points being:	
	 Revenue increased to \$741k (up from 593k) 	
	 Operating loss of \$79.9k, primarily due to poor weather leading to significant external 	
	ground hire. Flow on effect in reduced canteen revenue. Uniform costs were also \$21k over budget.	
	The Chair opened the meeting for any questions on the Financial Statements and Auditors Report.	
	- The Audited Financial Statements are for the period 1 October 2022 to 30 September 2023	
	• The Chair then proposed that the Financial Statement for the year ended 30 September 2023	
	together with the Independent Auditors' report, be accepted.	
	• The Financial Statement for the year ended 30 September 2023 together with the Independent	
	Auditors' report were unanimously accepted by members. Proposed – Ray Verratti 	
	 Seconded – Zeno Hamzi 	
	Three questions raised from the floor as follows:	
	1. Paul Crisp queried whether we had sought any compensation from council regarding reimbursement of external ground hire. Ray advised the club has made a formal submission to council.	
	2. Kayt queried whether all grants were included in the financial reports. Ben advised yes all were included.	
	3. Tim queried the grounds situation and potential impact on season 2024. Ray advised that this was acknowledged as a very difficult situation and teams would be impacted, and the committee is working through how best to manage the limited resources. Impacted teams will be notified before 31-Dec-2023.	
6	Election of Committee	
	Ray advised that a number of roles were up for election this year.	
	The roles for re-election are:	
	- Secretary: Melissa Butler	
	- Treasurer: Ben Duan	
	- General Committee #1: Martin Holt	
	- General Committee #5: Sunita Toraty	
	Ray advised that the Club had received a single nomination for the following positions:	
	- Secretary: Sunita Toraty	
	- Treasurer: Ben Duan	
	- General Committee #1: Florian Osang	
	- General Committee #5: Briana Kotsapavlidis	

#	ITEM
	Martin Holt and Melissa Butler have decided not to re-elect for their positions as General Committee and Club Secretary. We take this opportunity to thank Martin and Melissa for their commitment and support to the Club over the past years.
	 The persons elected unopposed were: Secretary: Sunita Toraty Treasurer: Ben Duan General Committee #1: Florian Osang General Committee #5: Briana Kotsapavlidis The following roles will be up for election at the next annual general meeting in 2024: President
	 Vice President General Committee #2 General Committee #3 General Committee #4
	 The following people will be in these positions for the coming year: President: Ray Veratti Vice President: Paul Crisp General Committee #2: Craig Little General Committee #3: Alan Cubbon General Committee #4: James Tan All committee positions are now filled.
7	 Alan Goodyear Award Recipient 2023 The Alan Goodyear Coaching award is an annual coaches award to honour a former club person Alan Goodyear. Alan had coached a number of teams over the years and was a passionate Club person. He wore his green and gold with pride. He continued to contribute to the Club after his children had ceased playing. The Alan Goodyear Coaching award for excellence in coaching in 2023 is awarded to George Liariakos
8.	Other Business Club Person of the Year 2023– Micheal Linguuard. Young Club Person of the Year 2023– Sophia Apos
	Meeting Closed at 8.11pm